top of page

What You Should Know About Jewellery Hallmarking

Updated: Jan 31, 2020

It is an official requirement that all jewellery made with precious metals should be tested and hallmarked.

There are three compulsory symbols to hallmark jewellery: 

Fineness mark;

Assay Office mark;

Maker’s mark.

Hallmarks are small markings stamped on gold, silver and platinum articles. A fineness mark means that the article has been independently tested and guarantees that it conforms to all legal standards of purity (fineness). The most common silver hallmark is 925 which means that it is made of 92,5% silver and 7,5% other metals. 

The Assay Office mark shows which Assay Office tested and marked the item. The Lithuanian Assay Office mark is the knight on horseback holding a sword and shield, as depicted on the coat of arms of Lithuania. 

The Maker’s mark (also known as the Sponsor’s mark) is a unique mark of the company or person responsible for sending the article for hallmarking. In order to obtain the maker's mark, you must be registered with an assay office. Elegant Me Jewellery maker's mark is a crown.

Each item at Elegant Me Jewellery is marked with all three symbols, which ensures that You are getting the correct purity of precious metals.

We value each and every customer and aspire to create a relationship build on trust, quality and satisfaction.

If you liked my post, you can also follow my stories on Facebook & Instagram:


45 views0 comments


bottom of page